My 75 gallon adventure

Hi. My name is Devin and I am an addict. This is my first AA (Aquarium Anonymous) meeting.....

I wish I would have started doing this from the very beginning. Instead, I am doing this at 1 am because I can't get fish and coral off the brain.

I've decided to document my journey. This is the point of view: Never once owning or having any interest in anything aquatic, waking up one day saying "I want a saltwater aquarium", and diving in head first. No pun intended. I have been researching since January of 2015. After many long nights of reading and realizing that I have been sitting at my desk for the past six hours, I decided to join a few forums. This was also after spending nearly $100 in reading material. I've enjoyed this process and this hobby more than any of my other hobbies combined. I have a lot of hobbies.

From the time I started and all the way up until now, I have slowly made purchases. First purchase was a 75 gallon aquarium, sump, protein skimmer, and a canister for the protein skimmer. Everything was used and I spent about $260 on the package. Mind you, I only was going to buy the tank from the guy. He drove a hard bargain.

Protein Skimmer

Sump

I spent a lot of time also researching local fish stores. I knew I couldn't rely on the big chain stores. I'm not going to mention names, but they rhyme with shmetco and shmetsmart. I have experience with their live stock and it has never been all that great. I found one that was up on the north side of Indianapolis. For me, that is an hour drive one way. Not bad, but it tends to make a few things difficult. I then came across Premium Aquatics and found out they were in my backyard. I squealed with joy (literally) and immediately got in the car and drove there. I arrived on their first day of being open in the new warehouse and watched as they set up there frag tanks, fish tanks, and live rock tanks. I also made my next purchase. My return pump.

Return pump